PDA

View Full Version : Headlight relay mod



bradmaus
2010.11.12, 14:05 PM
Has anyone done this on their vanagon? does it really help. i just bought an HID kit and im going to put it in but woundering if i should do the upgrade first.

unimogken
2010.11.12, 14:16 PM
It helps a ton!
I did it on my Vanagon with my Ecode headlights.

You can either build a harness or buy one.

bradmaus
2010.11.12, 14:17 PM
ive got a ton of relays. wanna come up one day and help me do it?

unimogken
2010.11.12, 14:51 PM
I'd like to but my wife is out of town for a week and a half and i'm solo with the kids!
Aaaaaack!

Mr.Nobody
2010.11.12, 20:56 PM
Here's a link with great information on doing it http://danielsternlighting.com/

joel
2010.11.12, 22:59 PM
relay harnesses work on older cars simply because you are replacing crappy old, small gauge wiring and all of the rusty contacts, with new, shorter, larger gauge wiring using new contacts, better grounds, etc.

So really, you could just replace that entire part of your harness with new wiring, but a relay harness requires a little less work and ensures that the power has to travel less distance (and thus, less resistance) to do its job.

DowNnOutDubin
2010.11.12, 23:04 PM
Here's a link with great information on doing it http://danielsternlighting.com/

LOTS of great info there :thumbup:

lurkertom
2010.11.13, 11:29 AM
Relays are good for keeping the hi amp loads out of your light switch and in the HL where they belong. I highly recommend this mod - did it with my E codes on my Corrado...definitely worth it!

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 11:18 AM
Dont forget to install H4 lights while you are at it! H4 lights are vastly superior to DOT spec candles.

unimogken
2010.11.14, 12:38 PM
H4 lights are vastly superior to DOT spec candles.
Yes, yes they are!
I have them for every vehicle I have in my driveway.
Some are in boxes in the garage still......hehe

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 15:31 PM
i love upgrading lights. that is the first thing that I do to my cars when I get them! one of my sciroccos has Cessna landing lights for high beams. 250W per light FTW!

unimogken
2010.11.14, 18:06 PM
one of my sciroccos has Cessna landing lights for high beams. 250W per light FTW!
Topper!

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 18:26 PM
to negate that, the vanagon has HIDs with no projectors :( at least the PS has high/low to help a little...

joel
2010.11.14, 20:46 PM
i love upgrading lights.

same :D

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 22:15 PM
I must admit though, I have not upgraded the lights on the GTD.

unimogken
2010.11.14, 22:16 PM
Wha?
I even have H4's in my crappy S-10!

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 22:19 PM
Uhh, the GTD is a factory euro model. :p I imported it ;)

unimogken
2010.11.14, 22:22 PM
Ahh gotcha didn't know that part.

I need to get my H4's in my Vanagon whenever I decide to get it running.

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.14, 22:47 PM
If you have squares, better get them while you still can. they are sold at the dealer in US. just dont tell them that they are selling shit they shouldnt be. we wouldnt want any of that crazy european functionality to get out!

unimogken
2010.11.14, 23:38 PM
Yup thats what I have.... the squares.

bradmaus
2010.11.18, 07:53 AM
so when is someone coming up to the house to take a peek at this van and help with the relays?

doppelfaust
2010.11.18, 11:43 AM
to negate that, the vanagon has HIDs with no projectors :( at least the PS has high/low to help a little...

You arsehole... I hate people that do that.

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.18, 12:23 PM
:p I hate people that do that too! It is only temporary. I just need some housings to put the projectors into. I have already cut up one broken housing to see how it would work, now I just need housings..

doppelfaust
2010.11.18, 15:48 PM
:p I hate people that do that too! It is only temporary. I just need some housings to put the projectors into. I have already cut up one broken housing to see how it would work, now I just need housings..

I plan to build my projection housings BEFORE I install my HIDs.:)

doppelfaust
2010.11.18, 15:53 PM
:p I hate people that do that too! It is only temporary. I just need some housings to put the projectors into. I have already cut up one broken housing to see how it would work, now I just need housings..

Does the Vanagon use an H6054?

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.18, 16:34 PM
I plan to build my projection housings BEFORE I install my HIDs.:)

Yeah, well thats you :p


Does the Vanagon use an H6054?

H4 is what it takes. the lenses are proprietary vanagon lenses.

doppelfaust
2010.11.18, 16:41 PM
H4 is what it takes. the lenses are proprietary vanagon lenses.

Propriety sucks! Housings for my retrofit are about $40 shipped.:P

unimogken
2010.11.18, 16:46 PM
:p I hate people that do that too! It is only temporary. I just need some housings to put the projectors into. I have already cut up one broken housing to see how it would work, now I just need housings..
Pictures!
What housings do you need?
I have a bunch of Vanagon stuff and I can keep my eyes open at the junk yards.

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.18, 17:13 PM
I need square outside housings. Pics of what, praytell?

unimogken
2010.11.18, 18:31 PM
Pic of what the projectors look like!
So you need the low beams?
They're more rectangle.:P

Rabbit 16v
2010.11.18, 19:04 PM
I need mainbeams :p I dont have pics as it was just a test run on a cracked US spec lens. I didnt take pics and I have since thrown away the lens. I just wanted to make sure I could do it ;)

joel
2010.11.18, 23:18 PM
Propriety sucks! Housings for my retrofit are about $40 shipped.:P

should create a thread :P

doppelfaust
2010.11.19, 09:32 AM
should create a thread :P

I will once I order parts.:)